Can you have cheese sauce in your gluten-free diet?

Generally, cheese is made from the milk of a cow, sheep, goat, or buffalo. Cheeses that are sold commercially use pasteurised milk, a high-temperature procedure that kills bacteria. People without allergies can consume cheese in moderation with the proper preparation, storage, and consumption guidelines.

Do cheeses contain gluten?

Dairy products do not typically contain gluten, particularly cheese products that are 100% natural cheese. Occasionally, however, gluten can be added during the manufacturing of some cheeses and cheese products. In some cases, cheese can be modified by removing fat or salt. Often gluten-based ingredients are added back into these to improve their texture or taste. Cheese can be confusing for those following a gluten-free diet. While most cheeses do not contain gluten, it is still important to read the labels of all packaged or processed cheeses before eating them.

So, what has gluten?

Grain products, such as wheat, barley, and rye, contain gluten. Gluten is capable of causing the following symptoms in people who have celiac disease or have gluten sensitivity:

  • Inflammation of the immune system.
  • Digestive problems
  • Exhaustion
  • In some cases skin irritation

Cheese with gluten

Gluten is usually not present in plain, full-fat cheeses without flavourings or other ingredients. Low-fat cheese, processed cheese, and fat-free cheese however, may contain gluten. Adding wheat starch or modified food starch to cheese may bring about gluten contamination.

Each brand of American cheese, cottage cheese, queso, and ricotta cheese has a different set of ingredients. While some are gluten-free, others are not. In the case of vinegar, make sure it is not malt vinegar, as gluten can be present in it.

When full-fat cream cheese is not packaged with cracked wheat, pretzels, cheese straws, or other wheat products, it’s usually gluten-free. When buying cream cheese that is labelled as low-fat or fat-free, you should check the ingredient list.

If you are buying cheese products or processed cheeses, read the labels carefully. Gluten appears in some cheese products, but not all.

Gluten-free Anita Cheese Sauce

In the same way cheese works, cheese sauce can also be gluten-incorporated or gluten-free, depending on the added ingredients. Pure Dairy’s Anita Cheese Sauce however, is a fantastic gluten-free option for your diet.

How can I use gluten-free cheese sauce for my meals?

What can you add to your roasted vegetables, hearty pastry dishes or meats to give it that extra cheesy flavour? Our Anita cheese sauce can add a tangy, creamy, and rich flavour to all of your menu favourites. Whether you want to enhance the taste of plain steamed vegetables or find new ways to boost the flavours of your dishes, reach out for a sample of our gluten-free cheese sauce from Pure Dairy.

You can use cheese sauce on all sorts of vegetables including asparagus, carrots or roasted broccoli. Anita Cheese Sauce also works complements salty, savoury snacks like crispy potato wedges, tortilla chips, or lentil nachos. With gluten-free cheese sauce added to your dishes, you can give any ordinary menu item that ‘X factor’ that is not only delicious, but also healthy for your customers.

Where can I buy gluten-free Anita Cheese Sauce?

Whether it’s a vegetarian or gluten-free recipe, Pure Dairy’s Anita Cheese Sauce produces consistently outstanding results. It maintains an incredibly smooth consistency that doesn’t form a film when stored in a bain-marie, making it convenient for multisite facilities and restaurants looking for an easy-to-use product with minimal clean up.

Pure Dairy’s team of dairy experts are dedicated to providing dairy solutions to the food industry with high-quality products, even when times are tough! With outstanding customer service, we aim to meet and exceed the needs of our consumers. Don’t hesitate to give our cheese sauce a try today – we’re confident you’ll love it.